The cliche tropes new developers should look out for?

Aristro

Game Developer
Feb 17, 2021
Hey. I have been developing a Renpy game for past two months. I tried to avoid cliche story lines as much as I can but I wanted to know what you all consider as overused tropes.
I know most obvious answer is the incest themed game where MC moves back with mom, bitchy older sister and sweet young sister. But I am looking for more subtle tropes.
I will start : I personally think the "troublemaker friend" that MC or Li has is an overused theme. Usually they are a bit annoying too.

paust.alex

Apr 15, 2018
If she is over 14, she absolutely cannot be a virgin trope.
There are many girls who are beautiful and nice to talk to, who even in their late 20s remain virgins, because they have the most important thing - a sense of dignity and self-respect.

Pretentious Goblin

Devoted Member
Nov 3, 2017
If she is over 14, she absolutely cannot be a virgin trope.
There are many girls who are beautiful and nice to talk to, who even in their late 20s remain virgins, because they have the most important thing - a sense of dignity and self-respect.
You can also have those and not be a virgin, or you can have neither and still be a virgin. Either way is fine, only douchebags judge other people for their sexual experience.

rk-47

Jun 27, 2020
Landlady and tenant... like bro just say m0m and son so i know many people get annoyed, yeah i know incest rules and whatnot but there are always other avenues

Catapo

Jun 14, 2018
It might have been mentioned in the other thread but I would suggest avoiding characters interacting with the narrator, self-aware characters, 4th wall breaks and meme dialogue.
Sometimes it could be clever or funny but most of the time it is not.

Reactions: Dahakma

ddakkal

Jun 23, 2018