Want to start making Ren'py games and have decent knowledge about Python. Where should I start?

DirtyPants

Sep 16, 2022
So, I have been playing Ren'py games for like 3-4 years the past 2 months I have noticed that I keep asking myself "How are developers thinking about this story?", "How are they making this?" and all you know.
Been really interested in Ren'py development for the past 1 month but have been delaying it, today I thought you know what let's do this.
Okay, the main point- I have a decent knowledge of Python (functions, variables, strings, loops, and all) and want to start something in Ren'py. I don't have any knowledge about making games, like 0.
Oh, gods of F95 help me and guide me on how and from where I should start.

Thanks in advance :) (bro this smiley creeps me out for some reason)

Count Morado

Conversation Conqueror
Respected User
Jan 21, 2022
So, I have been playing Ren'py games for like 3-4 years the past 2 months I have noticed that I keep asking myself "How are developers thinking about this story?", "How are they making this?" and all you know.
Been really interested in Ren'py development for the past 1 month but have been delaying it, today I thought you know what let's do this.
Okay, the main point- I have a decent knowledge of Python (functions, variables, strings, loops, and all) and want to start something in Ren'py. I don't have any knowledge about making games, like 0.
Oh, gods of F95 help me and guide me on how and from where I should start.

Thanks in advance :)
If you have decent knowledge of Python, here's the Ren'Py website to download the launcher and the quickstart: So you can learn how to code using their tutorial.

But that doesn't mean anything unless you have a story. Do you have that? Once you have at least a working outline or draft, you can code that in with space holder art. Then you'll need art for the game. Do you have that?