Webm/Webp Security Vulnerability

SatinAndIvory

Jan 22, 2023
I'm kinda retarded when it comes to tech security, but I heard there was a major security vulnerability regarding using webp a month ago. Given that I am a dev and was going to use webp and webm to distribute my VN's images, have the issues been resolved, are they something we don't have to worry about, or should I steer clear of using webp/webm for now? What alternative formats could I use that are good for compressed images and video if so?

Satori6

Game Developer
Aug 29, 2023
webp doesn't look better than, say, png, and with modern speed connections, the load time of either is instantaneous, and we have more storage capacity than we'll ever need: it doesn't make a difference for users.

Websites use those formats because they save money by serving smaller files, so unless you're hosting the game online and you're expecting such a massive amount of traffic that asset loading will impact the cost of your plan, there shouldn't be a reason to use those formats at all.

That said, any browser worth a thing patched the vulnerability as soon as it was reported. Of course, there's always the chance that more vulnerabilities will be found in the future.

• Angry
Reactions: mrmcfappen

SatinAndIvory

Jan 22, 2023
webp doesn't look better than, say, png, and with modern speed connections, the load time of either is instantaneous, and we have more storage capacity than we'll ever need: it doesn't make a difference for users.

Websites use those formats because they save money by serving smaller files, so unless you're hosting the game online and you're expecting such a massive amount of traffic that asset loading will impact the cost of your plan, there shouldn't be a reason to use those formats at all.