What do you guys think about my renders?

Klauw1988

Aug 23, 2020
I decided to create my own novel. I found lighting very important in renders, which I will aim heavily on. I'm using Virt a Mate right now which I found easier to use as Daz3d.

Novel's made with Daz3D looks amazing, don't get me wrong but they all kinda look the same. And many novels look to "plastic". Please don't get me wrong, I still love novels made with Daz3D but many novels do look the same. So, I wanted to create different renders with more realistic lighting. It's a difficult thing to do, i'm still learning and i'm kinda new to those kind of things.

But this is what I came up with. Keep in mind that these images doesn't belong to my novel and are just random renders I made for testing. I'm also looking in to custom skin textures.

Tell me what you think about it. And yes, graphics isn't anything, it's also about the story itself. But I think both contribute in being a immersive novel. I will make two different sections, because I have two different resolutions, 3840x2160 and 9600x5400.

My novel will be in 4k, and I will release afcourse a 1080p version for people who doesn't want to download a "big" novel. But the quality will be less afcourse.

Tell me what you think about my renders. What could I change, what is good or what is bad..

These are in 4k

These are in 9k

Last edited:

Once_Up

Aug 20, 2021
I think some of the environmental assets do look better than Daz but about the character's model I'm not sure, yeah the skin is not plastic, but why the character's model shadow reflection on an object is really strange?

About the render themselves, what I would suggest you improve on are composition, character's pose, and facial expression. If you want to create an immersive feeling these things are also as important as lighting.

Another thing you should add is Depth of field, to make your renders don't look flat and people can focus on the main subject of the image.

Klauw1988