Ren'Py Where to get started with ren'py

pointnclicknoob

Jan 16, 2023
Hi I'm very new to making games and I was wondering if anyone had some advice for where to get started with ren'py. I've been trying to look up tutorials but I think I've been looking in the wrong places. Any help would be really appreciated.

GNVE

Jul 20, 2018
I am guessing you are new to any form of coding and in that case I'd start off with a simple intro course for python to get a feel for the basics of coding and the thought process you need. It is not strictly necessary depending on the level of ambition you have but I feel it really helped me to understand why I'm doing things in Renpy.
Other than that there is an inbuilt tutorial that shows off a lot of basic and intermediate things you can do.
There are also a few tutorials on YouTube but they might not be fully up to date.

pointnclicknoob

Jan 16, 2023
I am guessing you are new to any form of coding and in that case I'd start off with a simple intro course for python to get a feel for the basics of coding and the thought process you need. It is not strictly necessary depending on the level of ambition you have but I feel it really helped me to understand why I'm doing things in Renpy.
Other than that there is an inbuilt tutorial that shows off a lot of basic and intermediate things you can do.
There are also a few tutorials on YouTube but they might not be fully up to date.
Thank you! I'll take a look into that! Yeah I have basically zero knowledge of coding so I really feel like I'm in the deep end.

osanaiko

Engaged Member
Modder
Jul 4, 2017