Ren'Py Unreal Engine Daz Using Daz3D models to make still scenes in Unreal Engine

GopnikDude

Apr 22, 2018
Hi!

If you want to skip through the bottom for the question, just go the TL;DR below.

I'm currently elaborating a new lewd game of my own, with a focus on using Daz3D models, but instead of using scenes, props and Daz itself for the renders, i want to use Unreal Engine to make renders that i will then be able to use to make a Ren'py based game.

There is a few reasons as to why i want to use Unreal Engine to make my scenes and renders:
I already have experience with Unreal, since i'm an actual game dev (Although my speciality is Writing and Gameplay Design, with a background in 3D character animations) and i know well the capabilities of Unreal and believe they will allow me to make something truly different.

The ability to use AllRight Rig 2.0, which is a tool i used in the past. Would allow me to basically incorporate anything in terms of animations and expressions.

The recent Raytracing technologies and the ability to visualize in real time my scenes will be quite useful.

Among others, etc...

TL;DR: Use Daz3D for models, hairs, wearables (everything character related); Use Unreal Engine for renders and animations; Use Ren'py for the game itself.

My main question is: Does anyone know what kind of limitations there is to importing a Daz3D model and using it in Unreal Engine? Mostly things like Skin stretches, clothes manipulations, hair rendering/manipulation and graphical fidelity? I have a suspicion Daz models may be downgraded in some ways when imported into Unreal. I do not care about perfomances impacts since I won't ever use Unreal to make the game itself. It is purely a cinematic and render tool in this context.

Is there some methods/tools/plugins/options that will allow me to properly maintain features of Genesis Characters in Unreal as if they were in Daz?

Huge thanks for any help!

- Gopnik Dude

DreamBig Games

Donor
Game Developer