Breaking Into Game Developing

StoneWall

May 20, 2017
I (as many of you) like much of the content posted on this website. I'm a career software developer and chose to work outside the gaming industry since I didn't want my work life to be completely tied into my leisure life. However, I've been idling on the idea of making my own games for fun or joining others to help them out. I'm not that great of a writer and don't have a computer capable of generating high quality images. But I think I'm a damn good programmer and I hope to show that off.

So I decided to start small and rework some older small games in order to learn the ins and outs of Ren'py. I must say just from the small amount of things I've done so far, I hate it. The usage of jumps is always a product of path bugs. Seeing how it is setup for casual developers, I see now why creators throw out test builds periodically (especially for games with crazy amounts of branching paths).

The first two reworks I plan to do are two games by ChaptersInLove: A Night with Sara and Art with Carla. I will be using the same images and the games will be done in English. I've already started working on A Night with Sara. I'm probably about 1/3 of the way through the dialogue path. My plan is to finish the dialogue path first with all the choices and underlining flags in place. Then move to adding all the images. And finish it off by doing a bit of grammar and punctuation cleanup. Bonus work will be playing around with the UI layout.

In case anyone asks, no I am not the creator. I've also not contacted the creator. I am not getting paid for this. I am doing this on my own in an effort to get more familiar with Ren'py and to share my progress with you guys. Maybe get some tips, tricks, or even a collaboration with some of you. Thanks for reading.

StoneWall

May 20, 2017