• Ren'Py

Votes: 5 19.2%
  • DAZ

Votes: 8 30.8%
  • Both simultaneously!

Votes: 13 50.0%

• Total voters
Apr 28, 2018
I am playing with the idea of making my own Ren'Py game in my spare time as a hobby. I have some backgrounds in both animation and programming but am new to both DAZ and Ren'Py. So my question is, which one do you feel is more important to focus on first?
  • Coding the game & polishing off the script first?
  • Or, focusing on getting crisp renders?
  • Or just figure everything out side by side?
A little background on me:
I was in an 3D animation college course but dropped out before my 3rd and final year because I got disillusioned with it and lost interest in pursuing it as a career. It's been like 6 years but the fundamentals of composition, lighting, posing and all that should be in my head somewhere. ;P
I did do some coding in the animation course and I have also done some coding in other college courses as well as winging it for some short term jobs. I'm pretty good at picking it up on the fly as needed but am in no way an expert at any of it.

I've experimented with some stuff in Ren'Py this last week or so and to my surprise so far it's been smooth sailing for the most part, I can get it to do what I want it to do thus far. Haven't really dipped my toe into DAZ yet aside from installing it and all the free assets.

So anyways, all thoughts, feedback and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Porcus Dev

Engaged Member
Game Developer
Oct 12, 2017
Start by testing both programs and asking around when in doubt... but for the creation of the game, I think it's essential to use both at the same time, unless it's a really short game, lol