HTML Help and tips for twine Sugarcube coding

Drmmrt

Jul 14, 2017
Hey everybody!

Recently I started my first html game with twine (sugarcube 2.3) and been hobbying away for a while.
I've got a decent amount of content, places and a couple of random events but I want to take it a step further.
I am a complete amateur related to coding or twine (like I said, this is the first thing I try) and all I've got so far is with the help of google, youtube, forums and a lot of trail and error.

What I like to add to my game are:
-some first time encounters (you meet a character for the first time and that event doesn't come back again)
-some way of releasing various options with the characters. the way my game is now is more or less like a completed version of the game without any requirements to unlock content.
-and with the options mentioned above maybe some sort of shopping/gift system.

I know these things aren't really original and should be fairly simple (I think), I did look tough the forum (sorry if I missed a thread that already covered this!) but couldn't really find what I was looking for (or missed it because it wasn't what I excepted it to be).

If any of you could and would like to give me some pointers or point me in the right direction, that would be awesome and I would be very grateful! :)
Thanks in advance!

• Thinking Face
Reactions: Cul

givu

Jan 17, 2018
(First time encounters) I handle it like this:
<<if $charactermet is false or $chartermet is undefined>>
Character introduction scene
<<elseif $charactermet is true>>
Other scene
<</if>>

if you want to use multiple scenes for the same character in the same location, instead of a "false" or "undefined" statement you can use values:
<<if $characterscene is 1 or $characterscene is undefined>>
First scene
<<set $characterscene to $characterscene +1>>
<<elseif $characterscene is 1>>
Second scene
<</if>>