Ren'Py How difficult/useful would it be help out with programming on a Renpy Project?

sipsipsap

Aug 20, 2023
In my Day to Day Job I am a Programmer that works with VBScript.

When it comes to VN's I've played they are mostly made with Renpy. Having looked at these games and their scripts they seem to not be that hard to code.

I had a look at a 16min YT Video to learn more about the Python Syntax and from what I learned so far it should be pretty easy for me to learn the Python Part. I switched from C#/C++ to VBScript and learned most of the necessary syntax in less than 2 Months for my current Job. I can already read the Renpy Script pretty well so I don't think that will be the main issue. Especially if I have someone that I could ask. Otherwise google will have to do.

Now the questions that remain are the one about knowing how much you don't know and if it is even worth it to learn.

At the moment I don't intend to start my own project. I am wondering how much there is to learn about the Renpy Classes and such, and whether they are well documented.

And even if I did that... Is it even worth it? How much work is the actual programming part when creating a VN compared to creating the Images/Videos?
Would my help even contribute significantly to the projects faster completion?

I know from my Bachelor in Game Programming that in a Real-Time Rendering Programm coding can be half the work load if not more, depending on the project. But I have no clue how that is with a Renpy Project.

GetOutOfMyLab

Forum Fanatic
Modder
Aug 13, 2021
I'd say it'd be good to first start by looking at the Ren'Py documentation:

and the Ren'Py Github:

I started learning VB6 back in 1997-ish, switched to VBScript and classic ASP (known as ASP 3.0 back then), and then followed the ASP.NET path in both Visual Basic.NET and C#. Compared to that, learning Ren'Py was quite easy for me. But that will differ from person to person.