Daz How does licensing Daz assets for a game work?

IamUnderman

May 11, 2020
Hey there. I am currently working on a visual novel game and i intend to use Daz 3D as my means of creating graphics for the game. I am messaging because I am unsure exactly how licensing these assets to be legal for use works. My specific questions are:

- Does every single asset used in a game need to be individually licensed? Everything from a chair prop to an environment? Or is there an overarching license which covers everything?
- How does Daz enforce this license? If you make a game using Daz assets, how can they tell if it was made with or without a license? Basically, is getting caught an actual realistic issue?
- How can I tell if a free asset I aquired was pirated or legal?

Thank you for your time, this is a complicated and fiddly issue and I am just starting out so it is all a bit new to me. Thank you for your time.

MissFortune

I Was Once, Possibly, Maybe, Perhaps… A Harem King
Respected User
Game Developer
Aug 17, 2019
- Does every single asset used in a game need to be individually licensed? Everything from a chair prop to an environment? Or is there an overarching license which covers everything?
No. If you buy a dining room environment, and it comes with that chair prop, you've purchased the license to use that chair or any other asset in that environment you bought. This applies to any asset that comes with multiple assets bundled inside of it.

The caveat here being Interactive Licenses. If you're making a game about a haunted, flying chair that's controlled by a player in Unreal Engine, you'd need to buy an interactive license.

- How does Daz enforce this license? If you make a game using Daz assets, how can they tell if it was made with or without a license? Basically, is getting caught an actual realistic issue?