HTML How to do time & day system/corruption meter/money in Twine/SugarCube

Atomic Brain

Mar 8, 2020
I've been looking up some tutorials online for how to write a Twine game, but so far all I've seen are very basic instructions on how to link to other pages and include pictures and stuff. I know this is probably really basic information for anyone with programming knowledge, but I have almost none. I'm trying to make a game similar to Life Choices (mainly for my own amusement, but maybe I could share it online in the future) , but I don't know how to a) program a time and day system, b) make a visual corruption and health meter or counter, and c) create a wallet or way to earn and spend money.

I know this is probably a lot of basic questions, so if anyone can just point me to some reliable tutorials in the forums or elsewhere online, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Mar 18, 2020
I'm still pretty new at Twine myself, and I'm constantly learning better ways of doing things. As far as a super simple way of doing things, you can set a variable to anything with a $ sign at the start. For example, my money count is stored in "$cash". Then every time you make/spend money you can add or subtract from it. Simplest place to do this on the page links. So a link would read -

[[Buy a hat][$cash -=15]]
[[Sell a hat][$cash +=15]]

In the hypothetical hat trading game I just created, this would send you to the "Buy a hat" or "Sell a hat" passage and add or subtract 15 from the total. You can also put these in if statements or anywhere else you want. The link that xcrash posted has a lot more detail and variations on how to change variables.

Once you've got the hang of it you can use the for whatever you want, $health, $corruption, etc. If you really need a visual representation you could make images for each state then set up an if statement for the bar -