HTML Implement currency/stat tracking in twine 2's sugarcube?

starvoyager

Game Developer
Jul 22, 2017
I've done some research on this, but i'm not a coder and everything that came up assumed you had at least a few dozen hours of java/html practice. I was able to jury rig one thing in a twine 1 game, but a friend really wanted me to switch to twine 2 (and it does have some benefits), so i'm using that now. What I need is just a way to make a number show up on the left hand side, the ability to make clicking on certain links increase or reduce that number, and the ability to make links that only show up If you have a certain stat. I'd also like to be able to do this with miscellanous things like dick size as well, so on the left it would say
"Money - $100
"Dick size - 5in"
And then based on your action either of those can increase or decrease upon clicking certain passages, and passages don't show up if you don't meet the requirements. I'm not trying to make an open world game with jobs and encounters or anything, just a simple "You read the passage and click A or B to go to a new path, those paths continue until you reach a preexisting ending" and The money/size stuff is just for the player to be aware of, so it doesn't need to be anything advanced. I'm sorry if this has been asked before, but none of the titles of questions seem to be asking this exact thing, they're mostly somewhat related questions that don't really help with this

TediousNonsense

Jan 16, 2021
You can do this by setting story variables. So for your Money example, when you first give the player money, you would include the set macro:

<<set $money to 100>>