Ren'Py In-game walkthrough help needed

jospaghettio

Donor
Feb 13, 2019
Not sure if right section, but...

I've created a mod for Thirsty for my Guest. At the moment there are two versions. One with walkthrough and one without. I'd like to combine them by creating a togglable walkthrough.
screenshot0003.png
But I don't know how to connect the setting and the in-game choices.

Ideally, I'd like to keep it simple.

So, like setting up a kwarg for the choices.

Original:
menu:
"No problem {color=#00c000}(Recommended){/color}":

With kwarg "R"

menu:
"No problem"(R="Recommended"):

But I'm not a coder. Can someone create the code needed? I assume for screens.rpy.

Here's the screens.rpy 335 and 821 is what I've attempted. But when I changed the script to test, I got an error.

Last edited:

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
Here's the screens.rpy 335 and 821 is what I've attempted. But when I changed the script to test, I got an error.
screens.rpy:335
Python:
default persistent.v_walkthrough_enabled = False
default persistent.v_walkthrough_disabled = True
Why two variables ???? It's either enabled, or it isn't, there's not reason to have both...

screens.rpy:821
Python:
            frame:
                has vbox:
                    xfill False
                label _("In-Game Walkthrough") xalign .5 yalign .9999 text_size 25 padding (10,10,10,10)
                if persistent.v_walkthrough_disabled:
                    textbutton _("Enable Feature") action Function(renpy.call_in_new_context, "enable_walkthrough") text_size 20 xalign .5 yalign .9999 padding (10,10,10,10)
                else:
                    textbutton _("Enabled") action SetField(persistent, "v_walkthrough_enabled", True) text_size 20 xalign .5 yalign .9999 padding (10,10,10,10)