keep the art but change the story, ethical question

Family Fun

Nov 9, 2020
I'm not very good at DAZ but I know enough Ren Py to be able to write a simple story.

would you play a game that took the art from a game, didn't change the art at all and wrote a new story totally different from the original?

I was making a mod for Foot of the Mountains and correcting some spelling and grammar mistakes when I realized that with so many images I could just re-use those to tell a whole new story.

I'm not looking to make money, no Patreon or anything, just recycle images that someone else made.

Yeah, yeah this is a pirate site but all the same there will be ethical boundaries.

Reactions: kshyk

lazymunchlax

Dec 15, 2018
If you wanted to do it, go ask the Author / Team behind a game if you can make a Mod for their game that gives a completely different story. Do it, and continue to let everyone know what the original game was.

If every author says no, I have no answer for you.

Reactions: Lussuria

Diconica

Apr 25, 2020
There is actually a simple solution to this.
Create all the changes and package it as a mod.
This way the person has to have the original game to start with and when they install the mod files it creates the new game.
Basically you would end up replacing all the files and deleting some of the files they have except images.
You will probably need to write a python script to handle the installation correctly.
That way any files that aren't needed and aren't replaced are actually removed.

That should solve all the ethical issues because you aren't just simply redistributing his images. They are still coming with his game.
You are just transforming a copy of his game by modifying it.

Reactions: Lussuria

fitgirlbestgirl

Jul 27, 2017
Seems kind of slimy and lazy. I mean there's nothing stopping you from doing it, but I would never play something like that.

D

Deleted member 3145675

I'll go with the "ask for permission" option (keep a screenshot)