• To improve security, we will soon start forcing password resets for any account that uses a weak password on the next login. If you have a weak password or a defunct email, please update it now to prevent future disruption.

Laptop Recommendations!

shawnmaple2020

Aug 23, 2021
Hey Everyone, I feel like this is a stupid question but i'll ask anyways, I'm planning to get a laptop for the sole purpose of playing renpy, unity, rpgm games. Being a complete novice when it comes to technology has me struggling on what to buy. Any advice on specs or recommendations on what to buy?

Glorified_ignorance

Mar 28, 2019
Your budget ?

It all begins from that question.

You don't really need an expensive laptop to run those you mentioned. These days integrated cards has advanced enough to run smoothly most of games.

Pamphlet

Aug 5, 2020
Does it actually need to be a laptop?

You can get better for less money with a desktop, to the point that the money saved will more than cover a light-duty laptop or premium phone* to handle your mobile needs

*Fun experiment for people with the sort of USB-C hub with a HDMI output - connect your phone to a monitor, keyboard, and mouse.

shawnmaple2020

Aug 23, 2021
Does it actually need to be a laptop?

You can get better for less money with a desktop, to the point that the money saved will more than cover a light-duty laptop or premium phone* to handle your mobile needs

*Fun experiment for people with the sort of USB-C hub with a HDMI output - connect your phone to a monitor, keyboard, and mouse.
it does not need to be a laptop really, i figured desktops would be more expensive

GNVE

Jul 20, 2018
The games on this site can nearly run on a calculator. So look to the lower end of your budget.
Specs for a laptop you want to look out for:
8GB of RAM (4 GB is still sold but if you open two tabs in your internet browser you run into performance issues).