Opinions on the "creepiness" of a theme?

What do?

• Keep the theme

Votes: 37 74.0%
  • Keep the theme, but try to make it non-creepy

Votes: 9 18.0%
  • Change to alternate dimension

Votes: 2 4.0%
  • Change to fantasy

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Change to something else

Votes: 2 4.0%

• Total voters

ZanithOne

A House in the Rift dev
Game Developer
Oct 2, 2018
Hi everyone!

I've started to work on a game, 3DCG VN, the usual stuff. I have extensive background in "vanilla" game development, so I'm quite confident in my ability to finish it. I've already way into the pre-production, have a couple of characters penned and mostly done visually, working on assembling environments. And now when I'm starting to go deeper on the story, I'm beginning to have some doubts about my theme.

The essence of my setting is that the male protagonist (player avatar) gets caught in the effect of an high-energy experiment and get thrown from Earth into the rift between worlds. There his subconsciousness invokes his latent psychic powers and creates a replica of his childhood home. Then some fantasy-ish girls get drawn to this rift house, and the usual romance/corruption happens. There are also more psychic powers (but probably no psychic coercion, don't really want that), light time travel, dreamscapes, yadda yadda.

The main thing that I'm starting to find uncomfortable is that the whole idea is, no one can leave this house, cause it literally is suspended in the nothingness. And the implications of that fact starting to look creepy. Mind, I'm quite aware that for the male harem fantasy, it's pretty much business as usual. But then I personally find many games out there way too creepy. It's one thing to have a open-form poly relationship with many girls, and another to have them locked up with you against their wishes.