• To improve security, we will soon start forcing password resets for any account that uses a weak password on the next login. If you have a weak password or a defunct email, please update it now to prevent future disruption.

VN Questions Regarding Programs

Which Program is Better?

• Ren'Py

Votes: 12 80.0%
  • TyranoBuilder

Votes: 3 20.0%

• Total voters

ThousandMasks

Sep 13, 2017
Hello, everyone.

So! This is potentially going to be a stupid question to many people, but I wanted to toss it out there because I'm somewhat new to game design (outside of goofing in RPG Maker), and am beginning to work in earnest on several projects (lewd and non-lewd).

The goal is going to be for a Visual Novel (hence the tag), and I was wondering if there were opinions on Ren'Py v. TyranoBuilder, and what formed them? I'm not looking to start a debate, just get a feel for which one people think is more user friendly to a beginner, and better at design.

I ask, mainly, because I see a majority of developers using Ren'Py, but poking at Tyrano it has more of a WYSIWYG philosophy, so was wondering if there was a reason people favored one over the other?

And in honesty, I'm also looking at Twine and Quest, but Twine makes my brain turn to mush, and Quest feels... off somehow (can't really explain beyond that at the moment).

Thanks to anyone who replies, and looking forward to trying to be a part of the community (I'm predisposed to lurking and avoiding interaction online).

~TM

Deleted member 167032

Alternate Existence
Donor
Game Developer
Aug 16, 2017
I started off with Tyranobuilder. It's very easy to use and works... to a point.

Trust me if you want the full monty then use Ren'Py or even Unity etc... That is if you want to customize almost everything.
If you just want to have a bg image and sprites over it then Tyranobuilder is way to go really.
I started to run into problems with Tyranobuilder as my game got bigger and bigger.