Source Control an CI/CM

xavarar

Aug 16, 2017
Hi all! I've been a lurker here for quite a while... I think this is my 1st post... :LOL:

Anyway, I've recently taken some interest in doing my own game development and was wondering what solutions some of the devs on here have in terms of source control and CI/CM. I'm a long time professional developer (nothing involving games mind you), and Build Engineer, so I know all the ins and outs of the dev cycle and tools involved. I haven't really done any at-home projects that warrant this type of infrastructure (I leave that shit at work man! I got better things to do!), so I'm just curious what others here are using.

I'm pretty sure any cloud-based solutions are out of the question because of the content. GitHub is very attractive with it's built-in workflows/actions, but that's an obvious no-no. If there are any similar solutions out there that people are using, or any home-grown solutions that have worked out well for you, I'd be interested to hear.

I'm currently thinking just a separate machine running git or svn (I really don't need all that git has to offer, and I'm frankly more comfortable with svn) and Jenkins might do the trick.

Anyway, let's hear what you've got!

Thx!

Saki_Sliz

May 3, 2018
Unity recently (few months ago) converted over to Plastic SCM, for its version control and team sharing, I've used it a bit and I really really like it. Its basically git, just as powerful if not more so, and it is visual, no console commands. I have yet to use Plastic SCM for other things, but I think I might look into it again since I'm working on more longer term projects now.

Other than that, I've theorized my own philosophy for version control, but I don't feel like developing the tool, that and Plastic SCM pretty much achieved most of what I wanted anyways.

Aug 5, 2016