Visual Novel o Sandbox?

Visual Novel or Sandbox?

• Total voters

Black_Dust

Game Developer
Jan 16, 2022
Hello everyone I am here to ask a question and all you players.
I am a video game dev and I used as software rpg maker MV, but since some time(also under friends advice) I started to approach ren'py software and slowly by doing some tests I started to understand the language and everything.
I have the basics to create a new game and I decided to use precisely ren'py,but here I am at a crossroads i.e., as per the title, Visual novel or Sandbox?
The game I have in mind could be done either way, obviously the sandbox would make it longer and with more gameplay, the Visual Novel would show the same scenes,but without gameplay and done automatically and would focus more on the story and the various scenes with the main characters so I decided to ask you, I would really like your opinion as gamers, what would you rather play Visual Novel or Sandbox?

Reactions: LoZar17

orellion

May 12, 2023
It depends on the development time you are willing to commit. A good sandbox will probably take 1000+ hours to make. If that's happening, I go with sandbox.

Black_Dust

Game Developer
Jan 16, 2022
It depends on the development time you are willing to commit. A good sandbox will probably take 1000+ hours to make. If that's happening, I go with sandbox.
Right now I have a good 468 hours on my game is I'm 1/4 of the way through the game(of course one thing is ren'py another is rpg maker MV)
To tell you that I would be willing to stay even 2000 hours, but it has to come a great game without smearing or plot holes

Insomnimaniac Games

Engaged Member
Game Developer
May 25, 2017
Right now I have a good 468 hours on my game is I'm 1/4 of the way through the game(of course one thing is ren'py another is rpg maker MV)
To tell you that I would be willing to stay even 2000 hours, but it has to come a great game without smearing or plot holes