Tool RPGM RPG Maker MV v1.62 Linux Mac and Windows

5.00 star(s) 2 Votes

TGIL

Member
Mar 12, 2019
315
97
This worked but my only warning to other Linux users is that latest version of NW.js for Linux might not work on your system.

So try the latest version and then keep downgrading using this list , until you find the NW.js version that works.

Lastly, while you are testing, do NOT copy and paste the contents of the "nwjs-v0.*-linux" folder into the main game folder of your chosen RPG-Maker MV game.

This will require to constantly delete and then re-extract/rebuild the game - a time-costly endeavor.


So, rather than constantly re-extracting/rebuilding your chosen RPG-Maker MV game, you should instead:

1) Copy the game's "www" folder and its "package.json" file from main game folder, into the "nwjs-v0.*-linux" folder

2) Make the "nw" file in the "nwjs-v0.*-linux" folder executable:
Bash:
chmod +x nw
3) Run/Execute the "nw" file to test if the current version of NW.js that you have installed will work


If the game crashes and you get a "Failed to get vkGetInstanceProcAddr" error, you'll have to downgrade NW.js!

Hope this helps someone out there.
I did this and got this message: Failed to load extension from: nwjs-v0.81.0-linux-x64. Required value 'name' is missing or invalid.
Do I keep downgrading NW?
 

n3k0d3v

Newbie
Dec 5, 2017
75
77
I did this and got this message: Failed to load extension from: nwjs-v0.81.0-linux-x64. Required value 'name' is missing or invalid.
Do I keep downgrading NW?
The error message tells you what is exactly wrong..
name_missing_value.jpg
Open the package.json and write literally anything for the name value (highlighted in the pic)
 
  • Like
Reactions: TGIL

TGIL

Member
Mar 12, 2019
315
97
The error message tells you what is exactly wrong..
View attachment 3047300
Open the package.json and write literally anything for the name value (highlighted in the pic)
Now it opens but says, Error: Cannot find module 'lodash/cloneDeep' Require stack: - ...... index.html
The node modules folder has the same amount of files.
 

n3k0d3v

Newbie
Dec 5, 2017
75
77
Now it opens but says, Error: Cannot find module 'lodash/cloneDeep' Require stack: - ...... index.html
The node modules folder has the same amount of files.
Could you link me to the game that you are trying to run? (in order to check out these error messages myself)
 

n3k0d3v

Newbie
Dec 5, 2017
75
77
It was this one. https://f95zone.to/threads/tratritle-v1-3-5-inazuma-soft.124085/
But I'll try some other games since it seems like it should be working.

I tried it with a different game and it worked!
It seems someone is happy haha:BootyTime:

For the game that you linked, I tried to reproduce the issue with the error message and succeeded
error.jpg
Turns out that if the node_modules folder is renamed or simply missing this error message will popup. But if the folder is not corrupted and has all files..
launch_ok.jpg
The game should launch OK. Only remaining issue that was left before launch is that some file was not named correctly(another error) because the file path expected one of the characters to be lower case while the actual character was actually upper case. Just had to lower case that character in the file name.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TGIL

TGIL

Member
Mar 12, 2019
315
97
It seems someone is happy haha:BootyTime:

For the game that you linked, I tried to reproduce the issue with the error message and succeeded
View attachment 3050405
Turns out that if the node_modules folder is renamed or simply missing this error message will popup. But if the folder is not corrupted and has all files..
View attachment 3050414
The game should launch OK. Only remaining issue that was left before launch is that some file was not named correctly(another error) because the file path expected one of the characters to be lower case while the actual character was actually upper case. Just had to lower case that character in the file name.
I don't see what you did to make it work. My files are cloneDeep with correct capitalization and node_modules is called node_modules.

Ok I got it to work. I just added another node_modules folder to the main folder, it has it in two places but it works now.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: n3k0d3v

gfurst

Active Member
Nov 6, 2019
608
262
First time getting this sort of error, game apparently plays on wine otherwise, happens as I start a new game, any clue?
 

Lfrty

New Member
Mar 15, 2023
2
1
New Instructions for Linux Users:

NOTE: Since RGP-Maker MV is running/utilizing an old version of Linux's fontconfig, the below steps will have to be applied if you want RPG-Maker MV games to run correctly on your Linux devices

1) Download and Extract the Linux Version of the NWJS tool

2) Go into the folder called "nwjs-v0.29.0-linux-x64"

3) Within that folder, create a new folder called "fonts" (folder must be spelled exactly as shown in quotes with the exact same capitalization) and then go into that "fonts" folder

4) Within the "fonts" folder, create a file called "fonts.conf" (file must be spelled exactly as shown in quotes with the exact same capitalization)

5) Open the "fonts.conf" file you've created. Then copy and paste the below code into the the "fonts.conf" file:
Code:
<fontconfig>
    <dir>/usr/share/fonts</dir>
    <cachedir>fonts</cachedir>
</fontconfig>

6) Save that file, close it, and then go back into the folder called "nwjs-v0.29.0-linux-x64"

7) Now create a new file called "Game.sh" within the "nwjs-v0.29.0-linux-x64" folder and then open that file

8) Within the now open "Game.sh" file, paste the below code that you should copy:
Bash:
#!/bin/sh
FONTCONFIG_PATH=fonts ./nw

9) Save and close that now edited "Game.sh" file and go back to the folder called "nwjs-v0.29.0-linux-x64"

10) Now make both the "nw" file and the "Game.sh" file executable using the code below:
NOTE: Run each line shown below one at a time within your Linux terminal!
Code:
chmod +x nw
chomd +x Game.sh

11) Copy all the contents of the "nwjs-v0.29.0-linux-x64" folder into the main folder of your desired game
NOTE: That main folder of the game should contain the "www" folder, the "lib" folder, and the "locales" folder
NOTE: During the copying process, when you are asked to either "replace" or "merge" certain folders or files, choose "Replace All" and "Merge All" respectively

12) Finally, run/execute the "Game.sh" file (NOT the "nw" file) in order to start the game
NOTE: The first launching of the game may take a while since the game has to create all the additional font files within the "fonts" folder you created. Subsequent launchings of the game should not take as long
Thank you, dude! So easy. You couldn't explain it better
 

kenhei

New Member
May 30, 2017
2
0
Any updates advice for us mac users? Keep running into the 'read only file system mkdir' error ('open config.rpgsave') with RPGM when trying to change any settings or save the game, particularly with Overgrown: Genesis and other Dystopian titles. Tried changing permissions to read/execute/write with chmod 777; as well as mkdir -m 777. For the entire folder, game.app package, and specific files. Nothing works.

Tried opening the nwjs file; it allows to change the settings, but immediately crashes as soon as I try to start the new game.

I'm baffled.
 
Mar 13, 2022
17
7
Any updates advice for us mac users? Keep running into the 'read only file system mkdir' error ('open config.rpgsave') with RPGM when trying to change any settings or save the game, particularly with Overgrown: Genesis and other Dystopian titles. Tried changing permissions to read/execute/write with chmod 777; as well as mkdir -m 777. For the entire folder, game.app package, and specific files. Nothing works.

Tried opening the nwjs file; it allows to change the settings, but immediately crashes as soon as I try to start the new game.

I'm baffled.
try xattr -d com.apple.quarantine /filepath/
 
  • Like
Reactions: kenhei

Sirine

Newbie
Aug 7, 2017
19
18
I am having trouble playing Mental Blast, a game with many webm videos. The problem is that only pictures load, and sound, but not the videos.

I have tried different nw version (0.8 0.91 0.45 0.48) but nothing seems to work.

I can run it with wine but the performance is atrocious.

Any idea why the videos would not load ?
 
5.00 star(s) 2 Votes