I suck very much at Patreon. Please help this clueless dev to do it better!

Apple_Tart_Games

Game Developer
Jan 16, 2021
Hi everyone!

I'm a game dev with one game out so far. It's on Steam for $1, but it's also here on f95 as well:

Sir Stretchalot - The Wenches in the Well on F95

I was hoping I could get some opinions when it comes to Patreon, because I'm at a bit of a loss with it all. First off, here is my Patreon page:

Alright, so I'm wondering how the heck I should be approaching this thing. When I released the first game, I got a few people signing up. Maybe 10 all up in the first month. That was over a year ago, and a few have stuck around since then which makes me think I haven't done everything totally wrong, but a lot did drop off. I've got a Very Good rating on Steam and nearly all my money has come from there.

I'd much prefer to be making money on Patreon. It's a lot easier to release stuff on there than Steam, but I don't really know what people want me to give them, other than the finished games of course.

I'm concerned about my workflow as well. The first game and the one I'm currently working on now are very story focused. It isn't one of those games where the dev just keeps adding pieces through updates. I want to try that approach, but it isn't for these two games. I'm not the sort of dev who is gonna release something that I consider rough. It'll be either finished and good to release, or unfinished and I don't want people playing it and ruining the experience for themselves on a lackluster product.